Skip to main content

Ontario Cabinet Shuffle (2016)

Today, Premier Kathleen Wynne unveiled her mid-term cabinet shuffle. Wynne, who has set a gender-diversity target that would see women making up 40 per cent of all appointments to every provincial board and agency by 2019, has appointed 12 women to her cabinet, making up 40 per cent of the total of her 30-person cabinet, including herself.

Wynne’s cabinet includes seven new faces including Eleanor McMahon (Minister of Tourism, Culture and Sport), Indira Naidoo-Harris (Associate Minister of Finance – Ontario Retirement Pension Plan), Laura Albanese (Minister of Citizenship and Immigration split from the Ministry of Citizenship, Immigration and International Trade), Marie-France Lalonde (Minister of Government and Consumer Services and Minister Responsible for Francophone Affairs), Chris Ballard (Minister of Housing and Minister Responsible for the Poverty Reduction Strategy), Glenn Thibeault (Minister of Energy) and Kathryn McGarry (Minister of Natural Resources and Forestry).

Some major changes include naming Dipika Damerla as Minister Responsible for Seniors Affairs, Mitzie Hunter as Minister of Education, Deb Matthews as Minister of Advanced Education and Skills Development (previously known as the Ministry of Training, Colleges and Universities), Cabinet Minister Responsible for Digital Government as well as remaining Deputy Premier, and Yasir Naqvi as Attorney General.

Dr. Eric Hoskins will remain as Minister of Health and Long-Term Care. No replacement was named as the Associate Minister of Health and Long-Term Care.

Please find the Santis memo and full list of Ontario cabinet ministers attached below:

Ontario Cabinet Shuffle – 2016