Skip to main content

Ontario Cabinet Shuffle (2017)

Today, Premier Kathleen Wynne unveiled a small cabinet shuffle to fill the vacancy left by the departure of former community  safety and corrections Minister David Orazietti.

A significant change  includes naming  Dipika Damerla,  previously Minister Responsible for  Seniors,  as  Minister of Seniors Affairs, a new standalone ministry.

Outcome of the shuffle:

Marie-France Lalonde  becomes Minister of Community Safety and Corrections, leaving the Government and Consumer Services portfolio.  Lalonde will  continue to serve as the Minister Responsible for Francophone Affairs.

Tracy MacCharles  becomes Minister of Government and Consumer Services in addition to her role as Minister Responsible for Accessibility.

Jeff Leal  was appointed to Minister  Responsible for Small Businesses in addition to his role as Minister of Agriculture, Food and Rural Affairs.

Indira Naidoo-Harris becomes Minister of Women’s Issues in addition to her role as Minister Responsible for Early Years and Child Care.

These changes also reduce the size of Ontario’s cabinet by one to 29 ministers.

Read Premier Kathleen Wynne’s backgrounder on the shuffle here.

Read the news release here.